Deviant Login Shop
 Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour
×

More from deviantART



Details

Submitted on
November 14, 2012
Link
Thumb

Stats

Views
537
Favourites
2 (who?)
Comments
9
×
I don't have a premium account so I can't create polls, but it seems this matter is an issue to some people. So is scientific fact a matter of opinion, yes or no?

My answer: no. The idea that scientific fact is a matter of opinion is contradictory. If you blur the line between fact and opinion, you make a fool of yourself. I have been recently enlightened that this is an issue to some people, especially BANDits (Birds-Are-Not-Dinosaurs activists) who uphold stances that scaly dromaeosaurs (raptor dinosaurs) look "cooler" than feathered dromaeosaurs (the latter of which is scientific fact, that dromaeosaurs were extensively feathered). On the surface, what is cool and what isn't is a matter of opinion. Though unfortunately, it isn't that simple with BANDits. Their opinion becomes a pseudoscientific argument when they attempt to reconcile their opinion with scientific support in order for them to ignorantly deny contemporary paleontology that contradicts their BANDit opinions, which by this point are not merely so. And that's where problems arise, when people delude themselves into believing something incorrect on no more dignified a basis than they want to believe it.

-Rick Charles
Add a Comment:
 
:iconabekowalski:
abekowalski Featured By Owner Feb 12, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
Science is not a matter of opinion.

Aesthetics is.
Reply
:iconcetaceaphile:
Cetaceaphile Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Depends on if you think it's opinion which built your computer out of metal and plastic, or caused you to survive the first 5 years of life in the face of countless diseases and complications.
Reply
:iconjohnson-bunnells:
Johnson-bunnells Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Not really, no.
Reply
:icontomozaurus:
Tomozaurus Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012  Student General Artist
I agree, no it's got nothing to do with opinion. Vlad pretty much hit the nail on the head in terms of the details above, so I won't go deeper.
Reply
:icontrexking:
Trexking Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012
I don't know, is there really such a thing as "Scientici" fact? :P
Reply
:icondeinonychusempire:
DeinonychusEmpire Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
You're right, excuse me while I fix the title. =P
Reply
:icont-pekc:
T-PEKC Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012
I think you've mistaken "JP style dinosaurs"-fanboys for a real BANDits. BANDits are annoying, usualy well educated persons, who somehow ended up with non-sensical interpretation of the facts. On the other hand, "JP style dinosaurs"-fanboys are, simply put, dumbasses with no basic knowledge on how science works. Period.

To answer your qustion, no, I don't think that scientific fact is a matter of opinion. That's why it called "fact". Yet, the interpretation of any scientific fact is partly a matter of opinion. It depends on your education, the way you understand the world and science, your psyhologic state, etc. That's the problem with BANDits. They take a fact and interpret it the wrong way, in order to fit it in their opinion, no matter who crazy this opinion is. Clearly not the way to d good science.

I honestly prefer to ignore those people, instead of explaining to them that not all opinions are equal in science. Tried to do it in the past, but I gave it up. It's not worthy.
Reply
:icondeinonychusempire:
DeinonychusEmpire Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Good comment! And I think you're right, I should learn to just ignore those fanboys. There really is no sense in trying to reason with them. Their condition is sad, really.
Reply
:iconthearchosaurqueen:
TheArchosaurQueen Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
I agree with you :icondragonnodplz:. I say no.
Reply
Add a Comment: